EBPS Distinguished Achievement Award & Young Scientist Award

We are delighted to announce that the recipient of the 2021 Distinguished Achievement Award is Professor Aldo Badiani (Italy & UK) and the Young Scientist Awardee is Dr Leah Mayo (Sweden).

Aldo Badiani is Professor of Pharmacology at Sapienza University of Rome and Professor of Psychology and Addiction Medicine at the University of Sussex. His research employs translational paradigms to investigate the neurobiology of addictive drugs. He was also president of EBPS from 2011-2013.

Leah Mayo was recently appointed as an assistant professor in the Centre for Social and Affective Neuroscience at Linkoping University. Her lab’s research will focus on the role of the endocannabinoid system in the neurobiology of stress-related psychiatric disorders. Both award recipients will deliver plenary lectures at next year’s EBPS Biennial in Maastricht.